> All About Nursing > Essential Nurse Skills and Competency

Essential Nurse Skills and Competency

Standards for Nurse Skills and Competency differ from school to school, hospital to hospital, state to state and country to country. However there are certain common skills for nurses that are shared but most institutions.

Generally, this involves a combination of cognitive, affective, psychomotor, physical, and social skills in order to be a successful nurse. Cognitive skills specially pertain to the formal nursing education which often is tested through a licensure exam. Cognitive skills involve the ability to apply, synthesize, analyze and evaluate knowledge. Affective skills pertains to skills that allow nurse develop social skills and responsible behaviour in order to effectively work in collaboration with others and possess a sense of professional dedication in their work. Motor Skills essentially involve ability to execute movements required to provide general care and treatment to clients in all health care settings such as physical dexterity in performing essential nursing function like CPR or injecting. Social skills included communicating effectively and sensitively with patients and family, and co workers. Nurse should also possess emotional health to beat stress related to work and to remain objective in the exercise of good judgment, and the prompt completion of all responsibilities.

Competency pertains to the performance of a something at an expected level that demonstrates an integration of knowledge, skills, abilities, and judgment whether in formal or informal learning experiences. Nurse competency differs depending on the position of a nurse. For instance a registered nurse would apparently have higher levels of excepted competencies compared to a licensed practical nurse. These competencies also vary from state to state and country to country.

Related Posts:

» Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *